Blissful Three Day Break

Sunshine and incredibly good weather greeted as I first set foot on the island of Cebu. Good omen. I had been excited about this trip for the past several days and all the fatigued of travelling from the mountains of Miagao to t Cebu vanished the moment the slight cold air of the island hit my face, awakening me from my zombie state.

I never imagined that my first time in Cebu will be together with my college friends. I’ve always thought that if I ever go there I’d be with my family or I’d be alone in some back packing adventure but reality was, well, better. way way better.

aerial (?) view of the island

aerial (?) view of the island

Touchdown

Touchdown

We’ve only gotten cable TV last year so basically I grew up watching local shows like MagTV na Amiga, TV Patrol and others. I know that we only get the shows from Iloilo and Bacolod but it was an awesome experience to be inside studios similar to where these shows are being taken.

Inside ABS-CBN Cebu studio: backdrop

Inside ABS-CBN Cebu studio: backdrop

inside ABS-CBN Cebu studio: cameras---sophisticated ones. hihihi

inside ABS-CBN Cebu studio: cameras—sophisticated ones. 

I was in awe after I saw those sophisticated equipment inside the studio of ABS-CBN and TV 5. I felt like I entered a different dimension and when we had that tour inside those rooms where they do the editing and when our facilitator told us that they sometime switch to their audience if ever their talents made mistakes made me realize how important the job of technical directors is. Then he also told us that for all those switching equipment they only have one technical director. I want to give their TD a round of applause because I was having so much trouble with our simple switching device inside the ISBL and there he or she was with all those sophisticated buttons to push…I mean it’s just so amazing.

inside ABS-CBN Cebu studio: editing room

inside ABS-CBN Cebu studio: editing room

pushing these buttons has to be part of one's system

pushing these buttons has to be part of one’s system

outside of ABS-CBN studio

outside of ABS-CBN studio

outside of TV 5 Studio

outside of TV 5 Studio

lighting and temp of the studio was a complete opposite the outside environment

lighting and temp of the studio was a complete opposite the outside environment

Selfie with Bianca inside  TV 5 studio

Selfie with Bianca inside TV 5 studio

I also love listening to MOR so it was a thrilling experience for me to be inside the booth of MOR Cebu and what could be more thrilling than that than to be on air and listening to the DJ speak on air. Once I realized that I was on road of this industry, I considered working as a DJ. I mean it’s really fun to be speaking with listeners and playing music and all that. Although the DJ told us that they only get like two days off a year I still think that her job rocks.

inside MOR booth

inside MOR booth

the dream: watching a DJ    live on air. awesome. #DJJackyG

the dream: watching a DJ live on air. awesome. #DJJackyG

RPN radio booth: fun filled session

RPN radio booth: fun filled session

The same with when we went to RPN 9’s studio booth. Although I didn’t understand the reporters word per word it was still fun to be there watching them joke around and interview some of my classmates.

broadcasters interviewing Joel #pasensyaati

broadcasters interviewing Joel #pasensyaati

out of a movie: the academy

out of a movie: the academy

It was a bit disappointing that we weren’t able to go inside the Big Foot Studios (I was really looking forward to that part of the trip) but I’m thankful that I got to at least glimpse what’s inside the Academy. Their building looked like something out of a western movie. Or maybe it was just me being so new so such campuses. But they had really cool academy.

Big Foot Academy

Big Foot Academy

Big Foot Studios from the academy's rooftop

Big Foot Studios from the academy’s rooftop

I am so thankful for the trip because it made me see how beautiful the island of Cebu is. To be honest the island wasn’t

Magellan's Cross

Magellan’s Cross

anywhere on my bucket list I probably found it too mainstream andI’ve been hearing a lot about snatchers around an area in the city. But this trip changed my whole perception of Cebu. It looked a lot much better than Iloilo. And the malls…it’s like you’ll never get tired of going there.

Sto. Nino Church

Sto. Nino Church

Pedro Calungsod Church doesn't look like a chruch from the outside at all

Pedro Calungsod Church doesn’t look like a chruch from the outside at all

Taoist temple's very own Mushu! glad to finally Mulan's sidekick

Taoist temple’s very own Mushu! glad to finally Mulan’s sidekick

I particularly enjoyed our trip to the Lapu-Lapu shrine because I kind of felt connected to history and bought some really cute trinkets like my dream catcher. Even though it was really hot and the sun was burning my already toasted skin, the tour was still an awesome experience for me.

first Philippines war hero: Datu Lapu Lapu

first Philippines war hero: Datu Lapu Lapu

Lapu Lapu Shrine

Lapu Lapu Shrine

a mural of the Battle of Mactan

a mural of the Battle of Mactan

my dreamy dream catcher

my dreamy dream catcher

other dream catchers and trinkets in Mactan

other dream catchers and trinkets in Mactan

IMG_1157

But one the things I really enjoyed during our tour was the food! It was so amazing. I know I kind of added a lot of toxins in my system because of out all the meals I had during the trip, I think I ate crispy pata 3-4 times. It was unhealthy, yes, but we don’t get a lot of those back in the mountains. The desserts are simply delicious. It was a perfect ending to a perfect meal.

It was a sad moment when I had to climb inside the bus taking us to the airport because I don’t when I’d be back to this island. I mean the two days of roaming around was just too short for me. Besides coming back to reality, leaving Cebu was like leaving a party which just started to be fun.

our pre-roomate selfie

our pre-roomate selfie

travelling will always be more fun when we're with good company

travelling will always be more fun when we’re with good company

almost the first thing we did when we entered Cebu's airport

almost the first thing we did when we entered Cebu’s airport

my buddy or as she prefers me to refer to her, my non-existent boob

my buddy or as she prefers me to refer to her, my non-existent boob

Anyway, I really enjoyed this tour and I’m so happy that I got to see those sophisticated devices and that I had this glimpse what it’s like to be working for the industry. Not only did I discover Cebu but I also learned a lot of things. I really hope that I could be back there but I’m sure that it wouldn’t be as fun if I’m not with my classmates. But I’m still hoping that I could go back there soon…there’s still so much to see.

anneyeong Cebu! May we see each other again soon!

anneyeong Cebu! May we see each other again soon!

Leave a Reply

